Through the Garden...

In this district built at the end of the 19th century on the site of the former Dominican convent, the mansions open to the south onto gardens crossed by the Vaucluse Canal. That of the museum is imagined as a sensitive and sensory extension of the collections, favorable to biodiversity.

FACADE_MUSEE_VOULAND_19E
IMG-20211006-WA00001.JPG
A garden that hides a river
   

The private mansion opens to the south onto a calm and pleasant garden.

Visitors are welcome... ​ in the shade or in the sun, come take a break in the garden!

Rue Victor Hugo, nothing suggests the garden of the museum. This garden, to the south of the mansion, is crossed by the Canal de Vaucluse, the Avignon branch of the Sorgue. Imagined as a sensitive and sensory extension of the museum favorable to biodiversity, it was reborn after major work around the Canal in 2017. The flora is enriched from year to year, and over the days, we can observe the cycle plants, insects, birds, etc. The animals lean over this life and create links between the living world, the collections and the exhibitions. Leaves, flowers and fruits, insects, birds, and fish, everything changes with the seasons. And every spring has surprises in store!

A shelter, labelised LPO

In the garden, you will meet blackbirds, starlings, jays, sparrows or chickadees throughout the seasons. A resting haven for all birds and also for its rich ecosystem of more than 150 species in its fauna and flora.

Thanks to the label of the League for the Protection of Birds (LPO), the Vouland Museum is committed to the preservation of biodiversity. As well as for the conservation of our works, we apply ourselves to safeguarding the natural heritage of the garden. By raising the awareness of young audiences and by responsible and civic values, this openness to the outside favors respect for the living and its habitat.

thumbnail_Fichier_008_edited.jpg
20210922_134505.jpg
Come to the museum by bike !

At the Vouland museum, you will discover a sedan chair, a coach heater, Madame du Barry's travel kit, the team's bicycles and bicycle racks under parasols on the Vaucluse Canal,but also, if necessary, Allen keys and bicycle pumps!

Located in the immediate vicinity of the Rhône, inside the ramparts of Avignon which surround the 14th century city, the museum is in a "meeting zone" where pedestrians and cyclists can stroll quietly.

A few pedal strokes from theViaRhôna, major European cycle route, we welcome cyclists to the garden.

Come by bike to discover this haven of peace to live over the hours and the seasons (if there are still seasons!) where you can also taste syrups of thyme, rosemary, lavandin..., Mediterranean essences that found in the garden. We will tell you more !

A verdant scene !

What about a moment of sharing in the garden?

The garden prolongs the museum through its sensitivity and the sensory brilliance it releases. It even becomes the scene of various events: openings of exhibitions, concerts and workshops. It aims to raise public awareness of environmental issues and to arouse their curiosity through its cultural events.

Au Jardin...

Dans ce quartier urbanisé à la fin du XIXe siècle sur l’emprise de l’ancien couvent des Dominicains, les hôtels particuliers ouvrent au Sud sur des jardins traversés par le Canal de Vaucluse. Celui du musée est imaginé comme un prolongement sensible et sensoriel des collections, favorable à la biodiversité.

FACADE_MUSEE_VOULAND_19E
IMG-20211006-WA00001.JPG
Un jardin qui cache une rivière
   

L’Hôtel particulier ouvre au Sud sur un jardin calme et agréable.

Les visiteurs y sont bienvenus... ​à l'ombre ou au soleil, venez faire une pause au jardin !

Rue Victor Hugo, rien ne laisse deviner le jardin du musée. Ce jardin, au sud de l'hôtel particulier, est traversé par le Canal de Vaucluse, branche avignonnaise de la Sorgue. Imaginé comme un prolongement sensible et sensoriel du musée favorable à la biodiversité, il renaît après d'importants travaux autour du Canal en 2017. La flore s'enrichit d'année en année, et au fil des jours, nous pouvons y observer le cycle des végétaux, insectes, oiseaux, etc.. Les animaux se penchent sur cette vie et créent des liens entre le monde vivant, les collections et les expositions. Feuilles, fleurs et fruits, insectes, oiseaux, et poissons, tout bouge au fil des saison. Et chaque printemps réserve des surprises !

Un refuge, labellisé LPO

Au jardin, vous rencontrerez merles, étourneaux, geais, moineaux ou mésanges au fil des saisons. Un havre reposant pour tous les oiseaux et également pour son écosystème riche de plus de 150 espèces dans sa faune et sa flore.

Grâce au label de la Ligue de la Protection des Oiseaux, le Musée Vouland s'engage dans la préservation de la biodiversité. De même que pour la conservation de nos oeuvres, nous nous appliquons à la sauvegarde du patrimoine naturel du jardin. Par la sensibilisation des jeunes publics et par des valeurs responsables et citoyennes, cette ouverture vers l'extérieur privilégie le respect du vivant et de son habitat.

thumbnail_Fichier_008_edited.jpg
20210922_134505.jpg
Venez au musée à Vélo !

Au musée Vouland, vous découvrirez une chaise à porteurs, une chaufferette de carrosse, le nécessaire de voyage de Madame du Barry, les vélos de l’équipe et des appuis-vélos sous des parasols sur le Canal de Vaucluse, mais aussi, si besoin, clés Allen et pompes à vélo !

Situé à proximité immédiate du Rhône, à l’intérieur des remparts d’Avignon qui ceinturent la ville du XIVe siècle, le musée est dans une « zone de rencontre » où les piétons et les cyclistes peuvent flâner tranquillement. A quelques coups de pédales de la ViaRhôna, grand itinéraire cyclable européen, nous accueillons les cyclistes au jardin.

Venez à vélo découvrir ce havre de paix à vivre au fil des heures et des saisons (s’il y a encore des saisons !) où l’on peut aussi déguster des sirops de thym, romarin, lavandin..., essences méditerranéennes que l’on retrouve dans le jardin. Nous vous en dirons plus !

Un théâtre verdoyant

Et si vous profitiez d'un moment d'échange dans le jardin ?

Le jardin prolonge le musée par sa sensibilité et l'éclat sensoriel qu'il dégage. De fait, il devient théâtre de différents événements : vernissages d'expositions, concerts et ateliers. Il vise à sensibiliser les publics aux enjeux environnementaux et à attiser leur curiosité par ses manifestations culturelles.